Mercy Secondary School, Kilbeggan is a voluntary secondary school established in 1964 by the Sisters of Mercy and is a Catholic co-educational school. The school provides second level education for students from the wider Kilbeggan area.

Mercy Secondary School Kilbeggan is committed to the holistic education of all students, to ensure that individually, they each realise their full potential in a social and physical environment that is caring, supportive and joyful. We work in partnership with students, staff, parents and the community, and welcome all students from our multicultural society.


   Battle of Wits Quiz Runners up   

Our TY students Battle of the Wits team of Emma Ham, Erin Heeney, Brian Walsh and Shane Seery having won the county final went on to represent the school in the regional final. On Wednesday 5th December the final battle was decided as teams of Transition Year students from the four Midlands counties of Laois, Longford, Offaly and Westmeath gathered in a test of general knowledge for the chance to become the Regional winners of the Battle of Wits 2018.
Our students came 2nd out of 17 teams. A most commendable achievement. Congratulations to all the students.

Pictured below along with their teacher and TY Coordinator, Ms Emer Clarke are Erin Heeney, Emma Ham, Brian Walsh, Shane Seery.


  BT Young Scientist 2019  

Six of our Transition Year Students have qualified to have their projects entered in the BT Young Scientist Exhibition which will take place at the RDS January 9th -12th 2019.

Lisa Ennis and Erin Heeney's project will investigate "Attendance in a co-educational school or single sex school, which has the most significant impact on the anxiety levels of teenage girls? 
Emma Ham's project will investigate  "Do people take care of objects better if they anthropomorphise them ? "
Katie Reid, Ella Ravenhill and Roisin Mealiffe's  will look at"Does inequality in sport effect womens' attitude towards the game." 
We wish the students the best of luck with their preparation over the coming months for the exhibition.
  Comhairle na nÓg Winners  
Our School Team of Jemma Seery, Sarah Costello, Seán Gavigan and Alan Farrell won First place in the Westmeath Comhairle na nÓg Schools Quiz which was held in the Bloomfield House Hotel on the 23rd of October last. They are pictured below with the prizes they won.


School Calendar 2018/2019

Links to News: 

WSE MLL January 2016

Code of Behaviour

Link to Additional Resources on Internet Safety